The Virgil Hawkins Justice Foundation awarded $15,000 in Florida’s First Scholarships statewide to minority law students in furtherance of the motto “Supporting Access, Justice, and Diversity in the Legal Profession.”
Scholarship recipients were chosen by their extracurricular and community involvement; academic achievements; a personal statement; and financial need. Scholarship applications were distributed to students at the 2009 Minority Mentoring Picnic. The Hawkins foundation also provided applications to each Florida law school to distribute to eligible students.
Read the full article in The Florida Bar News here

Scholarship Recipients

Florida’s First Scholarships $5,000
Dorothy Smith- Florida Coastal School of Law
Daphne Shaw- Florida A&M University College of Law

Bar Review Scholarships $2,500
Cyntoria Johnson- Florida Coastal School of Law

Jason Phillips- Florida State University College of Law

Kaplan Bar Review Scholarships
Denise Steele – St. Thomas University School of Law
Kristofer Savy – Florida State University College of Law